Prof. Joseph Walsh

Project Lead / Head of the IMaR Centre at MTU

  • Ph.D in Electronic Engineering, University of Limerick
  • M.Sc (Eng) in Bio‐Engineering, jointly from Trinity Collage Dublin, University College Dublin and the University of Limerick
Contact details

Email: [email protected]

LinkedIn: See Here


Professor Joseph Walsh is the Project Lead of the REEdI Project and holds multiple pivotal roles: he is a Co-Principal Investigator at Lero, the Science Foundation Ireland Research Centre for Software, the Principal Investigator for the AgriTech Ireland Cluster, and the Executive Director of the AgriTech Centre of Excellence (ACE).

His research spans intelligent mechatronics and sensors, dairy technology, robotics and automation, autonomous systems, bio-instrumentation, and STEM education. With over 20 years of research and development experience in both industry and academia, Professor Walsh has contributed to over 200 scientific articles and has secured more than €20 million in research funding in the last five years, showcasing his significant impact in his fields of expertise.

He has just been elected to the prestigious Fellowship of the Irish Academy of Engineering (IAE), bestowed to distinguished individuals from academia and industry, acknowledging their substantial impact on the advancement of engineering, as well as economic and societal development in Ireland. An all-island body, the Irish Academy of Engineering (IAE) seeks to advance the wellbeing of the country by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to policy makers on matters involving engineering and technology.

Professor Walsh has previously received a recognition of leadership of a project in the seventh EU Framework Programme for Research at ‘Ireland’s Champions of EU research’ Presented by President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins. Also he received the Inaugural Innovator Achievement Award at the Munster Technological University, Innovation Awards, 2023. He has been elected Fellow of the Institute of Physics (FinstP) and has been awarded the titles of Chartered Physicist and Chartered Engineer.